Landmark Case Studies (Energy)

Designation as a Landmark (best practice) case study through our peer selection process recognizes programs and social marketing approaches considered to be among the most successful,innovative, replicable and adaptable in the world. Nominations are screened by Tools of Change staff and the most promising ones are then rated by peer selection panels based on a standard scoring grid. Designated programs are captured in detail and presented to other social change practitioners through webinars, transcripts and video recordings of the webinars, and written case studies.

Sixteen case studies have been designated by our Energy Peer Selection Panel to date.

The most recent three, designated in 2017, are still in development. They are:

  1. Energy Star
  2. Fort Collins Efficiency Works (Neighborhoods)
  3. Ohm Connect's #OhmHour Program

 The following case studies have been published. 

  1. Burlington's Ice Rink Energy Competition (designated in 2013)
  2. Cape Light Compact Smart Home Energy Monitoring Pilot (designated in 2010)
  3. Class 5 Energy (designated in 2013)
  4. Energy Smackdown Uses Game Play to Involve Community Members (designated in 2010)
  5. Get Energized Iowa! (2015)
  6. LEED (2015)
  7. Opower Home Energy Reports (2011)
  8. Power Smart Residential Behavioural Program (2011)
  9. Bonneville Power Administration Energy Smart Industrial Program (2016)
  10. Queensland's ClimateSmart Home Service (2011)
  11. Rewire Program at University of Toronto Residences (designated in 2010)
  12. Shower Feedback in Switzerland (2016)
  13. SMUD'S Home Electricity Report Program (designated in 2010)


These case studies were designated by our Energy Peer Selection Panel, which is made up of members from on the ground programs as well as from some of North America's most proactive utility and government organizations supporting energy management professionals.

  • Devin Causley, Federation of Canadian Municipalities (2011 to 2015)
  • Jon Connor, Federation of Canadian Municipalities (2013)
  • Melissa Klein, US EPA's ENERGY STAR Program (2010 to 2012)
  • Arien Korteland, BC Hydro (2010 to 2018)
  • Clifford Maynes, Green Communities Canada (2010, 2011)
  • Doug McKenzie-Mohr, McKenzie-Mohr Associates (2011 to 2018)
  • Brian Smith, Pacific Gas and Electric Company (2014 to 2018)
  • Reuven Sussman, ACEEE (2017 to 2018)
  • Stephanie Thorson, Summerhill (2010, 2011)
  • Edward Vine, formerly of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2010 to 2015)
  • Marsha Walton, New York State Energy, Research and Development Authority (2014 to 2018)
  • Dan York, ACEEE (2010 to 2016) 


Search the Case Studies

Click for Advanced Search »